Competiition Over Food Post

Talk about anything and everything not related to the in-laws

Moderators: Phred, willthetruthbetold, meimei

Competiition Over Food Post

Postby Melody » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:34 pm

I wish the poster of this had put this in the forum (either non in-law or in-laws) because I thought it was a hoot and a fun topic. Its also so relevant to this time of year.

Its not about one's ability to cook but the obnoxious 'tude about it, lol. I disagree with the poster only about either being able to cook well or not. I'm a good cook now, but it took an interest, practice and some guidance from friends. I don't knock anyone who can't or doesn't want to unless they're aholes about it.

Stepmonster pretends she can cook. She dumps store bought prepared food with some added grossness to it - sometimes something spoiled in the refrigerator onto a plate claiming its "homemade". (And either lies or has no clue about the ingredients when anyone asks about allergens). Then she looks for praise. She spends more time in the kitchen hiding the packaging. The only "homemade" thing on the table was some alleged mashed potatoes that were bright yellow and more liquid than solid. (Shudder).

Yep, and she tried to put my cooking down. Like if I used organic beef it was "that grass fed sh*t" - only for her to go out and buy it the next week and brag that she did. And then she'd claim she didn't eat certain foods only to take two servings and end up looking like a dog licking the plate clean. Whatever.

On the other extreme. another in-law who I was very fond of was hilarious about her inability to cook (she had many other talents). But she was happy to teach young teens such fun "receipes" as "Hamburger a la Gameshow". This is when you:
- heat up the stove with a pan on top
- throw a burger in it
- cover with lid
- turn off the stove
- watch a 1/2 game show
- throw burger onto a plate

Vola! Bon Appetit! :lol:
Melody
Nuclear

Re: Competiition Over Food Post